Nolet Silver Gin

Nolet Silver GinNolet Silver Gin opts for a series of non-traditional gin botanicals. In doing so, Nolet Silver Gin has earned a reputation as one of the most contemporary floral-forward gins on the market still. It’s so archetypal as an example of “floral gin” that I use it as an exemplar frequently in my talks. If you saw me speak at Gin World 2018 in St. Louis about the flavor of gin, I poured plenty of Nolet Silver.

The three unique botanicals are Peach, Turkish Rose and Raspberry. Each of the signature botanicals are independently macerated and distilled in copper pot stills. They are blended with the base gin and bottled at 47.6% ABV.

Tasting Notes

The first thing that gin drinkers notice whether by scent or by taste is that the juniper is muted, almost missing.

The floral scent of Nolet SIlver Gin is over the top. You smell rose when you open the bottle, along with intimations of Lavender and sweet herbal botanicals like melissa and apple mint.

If you’re a fan of floral botanicals— Nolet Silver Gin is your gin.

Cocktails

I find that years later Nolet still makes a gin as floral and unusual as it was when it first came onto the market— but it’s a relatively easy gin for mixing. Juniper is present, but that floral touch comes through in nearly everything.

It makes a delightful Gin and Tonic. but my favorite is a Martini served up with a twist. Though north of 47% ABV, Nolet Silver Gin is lighter and easier to drink than its strength might otherwise indicate.

Overall, Nolet Silver Gin

I enjoy Nolet Silver a lot. It’s smooth, its exotic, its different. Fans of classic style juniper-forward gins may not find this gin in their liquor cabinet anytime soon, but if you’re one of the large number— and seemingly growing— who search my archive for floral gins every month. Nolet Silver is probably the best of the bunch.

(It might even be better than their Nolet Reserve 700 Dollar Gin.)

Recommended in its category.

13 thoughts on “Nolet Silver Gin

  • November 30, -0001by DeWitt Durham

    This is a challenging gin for use in cocktails other than the suggestions the reviewer made. It likes the versatility of a juniper-forward London Dry gin. That noted, I recently tried a Walk The Line cocktail at Maison in New Orleans that took advantage of Nolet’s unique flavor profile. I don’t have their recipe, but have approximated it at home: 1 oz. Nolet’s, 3/4 oz Lillet Blanc and 1/2 oz Aperol shaken over ice, strained and garnished with citrus zest (Cara Cara orange works well).

  • November 30, -0001by stephen cavender

    ONLY on the rocks. It’s too good to waste with anything else.

  • November 30, -0001by Boyce

    Personally I think Nolet’s Silver Gin it is a great gin addition to the home bar. I am always in a search for smooth gins like this that can be used for entertaining guests or introducing non gin drinkers to the variety of gin’s that are out there. It gives me more options to try other than a defaulting to a Hendrick’s dirty martini. From that perspective, I put this gin on par with St. George Terroir Gin. It’s just as unique and I personally prefer the citrus taste over pine. Having said that, I agree it is challenging to use in cocktails. I find balancing out the strong floral notes with a dry vermouth works well for a martini. I use 3 parts Nolet’s Silver Gin to 1 part Vya Extra Dry Vermouth.

  • November 30, -0001by triple G

    I agree that this gin is a bit limited in what it can be mixed with / used for. But this gin does make the absolute best aviation cocktail ever! End of story. I buy this gin for that cocktail only. No other gin does it quite as nice. And I do enjoy it in a G & T. The only negative I can say about this gin is that it does tend to be used for only a few drinks. But the ones that it does get used for are superb. One of my all time favorites and always on hand.

  • November 30, -0001by TheGhostofBelleStarr

    This is the only bottle of gin I have ever thrown out. I loathe this stuff. I’ve seen so many glowing reviews, but I would not take another bottle for free.

  • November 21, 2011by jellydonut

    I dislike secrets as well. I was thrilled earlier today when the ingredients of Hendrick’s was revealed by gintime. I even maintain a Google Docs spreadsheet with the known ingredients of every gin I come across. ._.

    I’ll steer clear of this gin, plenty of more traditional premium gins I need to try first.

  • November 23, 2011by Aaron

    Have you ever made your spreadsheet public? That sounds like a really interesting project-

  • March 25, 2013by nettie

    I’m new to your blog, sadly, but that’s ok, Im catching up.
    I’m so thrilled to have found it (via the Slate Martini Madness), but before getting too far in I was curious to see your thoughts on this particular gin, which is my absolute favorite. This sets a bar for me in how I read your other impressions. Not in a good or bad way, just to be relatable.
    Being obsessed with the botanical level of this gin, I recently purchased a ‘make your own gin’ kit.
    While my first attempt was so encouraging and delightful, I will keep improving. The flavors I chose to expound on were rose hips, lavendar and an increase in Juniper. Such a great combo. After reading your blog, I will now start experimenting with different bases, which I am excited about.
    Thanks for filling a niche in helping us all narrow down how to spend our gin dollars wisely.

  • March 25, 2013by Aaron

    Welcome, I’m glad you found me by way of Martini Madness.

    In short, as you can see in my review of Nolet, I rather like it. I’m a big supporter of modern contemporary style gins, such as Nolet which emphasize botanicals other than juniper. Nolet is bright, very sippable, almost sweet. I’d say when looking through my reviews look for things which I call “contemporary gin,” and for the sweetest/least London Dry like, I call them “gateway gins.”

    I’d suggest checking out Dorothy Parker Gin, Green Hat Gin, G’vine Floraison and Cool Gin. All are similar to Nolet in the sense that they really rock the idea of what gin can be [and emphasize floral flavors]. But they’re all definitely gin with definite juniper notes.

    I’d suggest taking a look at Iris too if you’re a fan of rose hips and lavender. Another really nice botanical that it sounds you might like.

    Cheers and enjoy!

  • December 11, 2014by Bob Q

    I just bought a bottle today. It’s really quite nice. It is a gin unlike any I’ve ever tried before. It is as sipping gin. I agree that it is a niche drink, but one that I will be enjoying.

  • February 15, 2015by John

    Nolet’s is a great Martini. I understand that you like it but giving it three stars when you gave a pass to G’Vine is a big unfair. Although not a gin gin, it is fabulous.

  • June 28, 2015by mike

    I`m new to the blog… but just bought a bottle of Nolets and find it makes for a great traditional martini- go lite on the vermouth1:4 ratio and one dash lemon bitters, add a twist of lemon- mike

  • July 4, 2015by John Jacob

    I found a 750ml for $10.00 Worth trying for that price. Nice for sipping and yes, it’s smooth.

  • December 30, 2015by John

    errr huh? 3/5 stars yet the review speaks to it being a fantastic Gin. In College 3/5 is failing correct? Bump

  • January 14, 2016by Art Wislon

    I received a bottle of Notlet Silver for Christmas. Having never heard of it before I was excited to give it a try. It certainly shy’s away from what we know as gin. I am a, “dyed in the wool” Beefeater fan and Beefeaters, it is not. I tried it in a Martini and was not overly impressed. The lack of juniper presence kind of takes away from what a gin drinker expects. I tried it on the rocks and found it to be very enjoyable and I had a more pleasent experience. All in all, I think I’ll save it for rainy day enjoyment.

  • January 16, 2016by Michael Smith

    I was introduced to Nolet’s last night by an excellent bartender. I ordered a gimlet with Hendrick’s. After he said he was a “gin freak” I asked about his favorite, and he told he about Nolet’s. He brougtht me a small sample on the rocks with a separate glass of tonic water so I could try it both ways. My second gimlet was with Nolet’s, and I have to disagree with the article’s statement that it doesn’t mix well. That was the best gimet I’ve ever tasted, although it probably didn’t hurt that it was made with fresh lime juice and a touch of simple syrup instead of Rose’s. I’m switching from Hendrick’s to Nolet’s for my top-shelf gin selection.

  • May 22, 2016by Jeffrey Blount

    Although this is not a traditional Gin, after tasting it for the first time I’ll call it an” imaginational Gin” the flavor opens the creative juices to try it with what ever you can conceive. drinks are uniquely great without limes when using this Gin

  • July 4, 2018by C Andrews

    I find Nolet’s a bit of “a hand full”. I do not care for it in a Martini. Inprefer a clean and bright variety for this purpose. Good in a Negroni. But best in a Gin Old Fashioned. Lets the full character show thru.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for the latest reviews

Advertisements