Nolet Silver Gin

Nolet's Gin

I’m not a big fan of secrets. You know, sometimes its a little cold, – you’re on the outside looking in. So Nolet, what gives? You have some obscure botanicals: that much I’m certain of. The given list includes only Peach, Raspberry and Rose. I’m not going to claim that I can reveal the underlying secrets with my well-developed gin-tasting ability (I’m going to try though), but these three “known” ingredients are so obvious on their own, so overpowering and at the forefront- whether by suggestion or intention that they remain the focus of many reviews of this bold new entry into the realm of top-top shelf gins.

Where’s the Juniper?

The first thing that gin drinkers notice whether by scent or by taste is that the juniper is muted, almost missing. I definitely think there’s some juniper in here (and not just because juniper is essentially required to make a gin) but because there is an underlying mild spice that rings of juniper. It makes me think of the faint pine flavor that I once had in a Douglas Fir sorbet. Its pine, and I call it juniper just because its gin.

The Rest of the Botanicals

The floral scent is over the top. You smell rose when you open the bottle. The only comparable in this specific botanical is Hendrick’s. But Hendrick’s doesn’t take it anywhere near to the level that Nolet’s does. There’s notes of Lavender and other sweeter herbal notes.

The Raspberry and peach makes this taste very non gin like. In fact, it’s so very much non-traditional gin like that it just doesn’t mix well at all. I would go so far as saying that you probably don’t want to mix anything with this gin outside of a gin and tonic (straight, no lime) and a martini (light on the vermouth). Other than that, this is gin that excels in a glass neat or on the rocks. I know most people don’t drink their gin like that- but this is the gin that defies the convention.

It is very smooth for 47.6%. I know I say this a lot. I’ve called Caorunn very smooth. I say Miller’s is surprisingly smooth for the proof. I’ve claimed that Plymouth is very smooth (this makes me think I need some new words to describe the smoothness of gin) but this one for the proof puts them all to shame. It is the smoothest of the overproof gins in my opinion. It does not taste like a 47% gin. Considering  it is at its best on the rocks of neat, this is a key characteristic which makes Nolet Silver a stellar “gin” that is rather unlike anything else that is out there.

Best consumed: Neat, drink it like you’re drinking Scotch.
Availability: Uncommon, but they have national distribution. So keep your eyes open.
Rating: I enjoy Nolet Silver a lot. It’s smooth, its exotic, its different. But I have a hard time giving a high rating to a gin that essentially does one thing better than any other gin, but doesn’t really work in any other way. Its a luxury gin that may have wide appeal, but should be treated as such in your liquor cabinet.

Write your Review

Suggestions: how's the aroma? How about the mouthfeel? What would you recommend having this gin in?

1
2
3
4
5

Readers' Reviews

by DeWitt Durham

This is a challenging gin for use in cocktails other than the suggestions the reviewer made. It likes the versatility of a juniper-forward London Dry gin. That noted, I recently tried a Walk The Line cocktail at Maison in New Orleans that took advantage of Nolet's unique flavor profile. I don't have their recipe, but have approximated it at home: 1 oz. Nolet's, 3/4 oz Lillet Blanc and 1/2 oz Aperol shaken over ice, strained and garnished with citrus zest (Cara Cara orange works well).

Last updated November 21st, 2011 by Aaron

12 thoughts on “Nolet Silver Gin

  • November 21, 2011by jellydonut

    I dislike secrets as well. I was thrilled earlier today when the ingredients of Hendrick’s was revealed by gintime. I even maintain a Google Docs spreadsheet with the known ingredients of every gin I come across. ._.

    I’ll steer clear of this gin, plenty of more traditional premium gins I need to try first.

  • November 23, 2011by Aaron

    Have you ever made your spreadsheet public? That sounds like a really interesting project-

  • March 25, 2013by nettie

    I’m new to your blog, sadly, but that’s ok, Im catching up.
    I’m so thrilled to have found it (via the Slate Martini Madness), but before getting too far in I was curious to see your thoughts on this particular gin, which is my absolute favorite. This sets a bar for me in how I read your other impressions. Not in a good or bad way, just to be relatable.
    Being obsessed with the botanical level of this gin, I recently purchased a ‘make your own gin’ kit.
    While my first attempt was so encouraging and delightful, I will keep improving. The flavors I chose to expound on were rose hips, lavendar and an increase in Juniper. Such a great combo. After reading your blog, I will now start experimenting with different bases, which I am excited about.
    Thanks for filling a niche in helping us all narrow down how to spend our gin dollars wisely.

  • March 25, 2013by AaronPost author

    Welcome, I’m glad you found me by way of Martini Madness.

    In short, as you can see in my review of Nolet, I rather like it. I’m a big supporter of modern contemporary style gins, such as Nolet which emphasize botanicals other than juniper. Nolet is bright, very sippable, almost sweet. I’d say when looking through my reviews look for things which I call “contemporary gin,” and for the sweetest/least London Dry like, I call them “gateway gins.”

    I’d suggest checking out Dorothy Parker Gin, Green Hat Gin, G’vine Floraison and Cool Gin. All are similar to Nolet in the sense that they really rock the idea of what gin can be [and emphasize floral flavors]. But they’re all definitely gin with definite juniper notes.

    I’d suggest taking a look at Iris too if you’re a fan of rose hips and lavender. Another really nice botanical that it sounds you might like.

    Cheers and enjoy!

  • December 11, 2014by Bob Q

    I just bought a bottle today. It’s really quite nice. It is a gin unlike any I’ve ever tried before. It is as sipping gin. I agree that it is a niche drink, but one that I will be enjoying.

  • February 15, 2015by John

    Nolet’s is a great Martini. I understand that you like it but giving it three stars when you gave a pass to G’Vine is a big unfair. Although not a gin gin, it is fabulous.

  • June 28, 2015by mike

    I`m new to the blog… but just bought a bottle of Nolets and find it makes for a great traditional martini- go lite on the vermouth1:4 ratio and one dash lemon bitters, add a twist of lemon- mike

  • July 4, 2015by John Jacob

    I found a 750ml for $10.00 Worth trying for that price. Nice for sipping and yes, it’s smooth.

  • December 30, 2015by John

    errr huh? 3/5 stars yet the review speaks to it being a fantastic Gin. In College 3/5 is failing correct? Bump

  • January 14, 2016by Art Wislon

    I received a bottle of Notlet Silver for Christmas. Having never heard of it before I was excited to give it a try. It certainly shy’s away from what we know as gin. I am a, “dyed in the wool” Beefeater fan and Beefeaters, it is not. I tried it in a Martini and was not overly impressed. The lack of juniper presence kind of takes away from what a gin drinker expects. I tried it on the rocks and found it to be very enjoyable and I had a more pleasent experience. All in all, I think I’ll save it for rainy day enjoyment.

  • January 16, 2016by Michael Smith

    I was introduced to Nolet’s last night by an excellent bartender. I ordered a gimlet with Hendrick’s. After he said he was a “gin freak” I asked about his favorite, and he told he about Nolet’s. He brougtht me a small sample on the rocks with a separate glass of tonic water so I could try it both ways. My second gimlet was with Nolet’s, and I have to disagree with the article’s statement that it doesn’t mix well. That was the best gimet I’ve ever tasted, although it probably didn’t hurt that it was made with fresh lime juice and a touch of simple syrup instead of Rose’s. I’m switching from Hendrick’s to Nolet’s for my top-shelf gin selection.

  • May 22, 2016by Jeffrey Blount

    Although this is not a traditional Gin, after tasting it for the first time I’ll call it an” imaginational Gin” the flavor opens the creative juices to try it with what ever you can conceive. drinks are uniquely great without limes when using this Gin

Leave a Reply